Orla & Conor

By OrlaConor

Is this how Mozart started?

Grandma and Grandad gave me a Dora the Explorer musical book for Christmas. Each page has tunes on it and each tune has its own special picture. There's a keyboard at the bottom of the book with the pictures lined up above the keys. If you press the picture that matches the ones on the page, it plays the tune. And as the tune plays, the keys light up. After the tune has played, you can try it yourself by pressing the keys in the order that the light appears. After a few weeks of playing with this book, I can do a few things:

1. I have realised that each picture plays a different tune. I know which ones they play, and I have my favourites.
2. I have realised that the pictures on the page match the pictures above the keys.
3. I can press the keys as they light up, copying the tunes (a little bit, not all the way through)
4. When my favourite tune plays (which is called Yay, Yay We Did It Yay) I sing some of the notes.

But most amusingly for Mum and Dad, I like to pretend that I'm playing the piano when the tunes are playing. Here's a demonstration.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.