2014 more running needed

By Brianporterrun

Meet Clyde

Before I go any further, Clyde has not been based on me.

He is a cheery, cheeky chappie but the similarities end there.

Today was my first shift on duty at the athletics training venue.

The people I'm working with are amazing. Great fun and dedicated people.

Equally great fun and dedicated were the Kenyan wheelchair athletes who came to train.

They were a great laugh before they got down to the serious business of hard training.

We were then invited to join them while they did their stretches and cool down at the end of the session.
We were exhausted just by the cool down!
It was particularly exciting for me to see Kenyan wheelchair athletes.

12 years ago at Manchester Commonwealth Games there was 1 Kenyan in a women's 800m race. She didn't have a three wheeled lightweight chair: hers was a 4 wheeled day chair.

In just 12 years they now have 4 athletes and modern 3 wheeled racing chairs.

Moments like this are very special.

After my shift I was in the City Centre where a focal point is a giant Games Logo that people can get a great photo with.

I spoke to the Ugandan Badminton team and said I would take them some photographs and get them some applause......

With the athletes in position I used by full vocal chords to introduce them to the crowd. The applause and cheering was brilliant, and lots of people took photos of the team.

Well, when you have a big voice you really should use it.

More tomorrow. I won't spoil it but it promises to be another blipfest.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.