Igor

By Igor

Cornwall; day 1. Still Life

I’m out of my comfort zone. No wifi. And … I’m having to do everything on my laptop. I’m not a natural laptop user.

I’m sure St Ives is nice. I just can’t see it at the moment. We’re here because last year a group of potter friends rented a gallery for a week. Anniemay went down and hung some of her photos on the walls to give the place a bit of visual interest - potters don’t usually hang things on walls.

For a reason I can’t quite remember, they’re doing it again and I’ve come as well.

It’s a logistical nightmare. We have to carry boxes of artworks, display units, stuff and more stuff up narrow streets because you can’t get a car anywhere near the place. It’s past 11.00pm by the time we finally get back to the hotel. We’ve spent the evening setting the gallery up - and all this after a 7 hour journey.

And the people - I think everyone who watched the Tour de France at the beginning of July has decided to come to St Ives for a holiday. The potters tell me there are far more people here this year than last year.

The final straw was no internet in the hotel. So I had to miss my first blip…… I guess future blips are going to be intermittent.

On the plus side - what I’ve seen of Cornwall so far is beautiful. And there are blip opportunities galore.

While we were standing in the street outside the gallery waiting for the previous occupant to vacate the premises, her dog come out to make sure we didn't run off with her painting.

If any blippers are passing the SaltHouse Gallery, St Ives in the next 7 days, we'd be pleased to see you.

.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.