petragnom

By petragnom

ads on the C-train

actually, I am very tempted to start a whole blog on C-train ads as they tell you a lot about this city; so today I saw mainly two types of ads; one was for trucks and I mean big mofo of a truck (as Harald would say); but then this is what you see a lot on the roads and Harald has also been infected already (so watch this space for car buying stories); but the other one, more interesting for me was by a Calgary-based energy company that is involved in oil and shale gas plays all over North America but their pitch is of course the profit they make; it reminded me a bit a of the local pride that coal miners took in the success of their industry in the Ruhrgebiet; so I am wondering how much of a local pride is part of the energy story here in Calgary; this is something I am planning to explore further via an oral and everyday history of energy (or energy narratives); in other news, I cleared the container at customs and then I waited for almost two hours at the house to get internet, TV and phone line installed only to learn that it could not be done without a TV already there; well, it would have helped if the sales people who knew there was no TV there had told me beforehand; so now the first thing to do when Harald arrives here will be buying a TV; and yes, this kind of prioritisation does sound very wrong ...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.