Family Dog

By Family_Dog

cat fright.

I woke up in the tiny wee early hours of the morning (I'm thinking around 3. 2 is too tiny wee and 4 is just 'wee' so 3 seems about right) thinking I was having some kind of seizure / heart attack / panic attack.

I woke up wheezing and straining and snuffling and started to panic. My breathing didn't sound right at all and even though I felt okay, I thought my brain was playing a trick on me whilst my chest packed in and I decided that the only thing I could do was try to get my breathing in order and kick Bry till he woke up and could help calm me down.

As I started heeling him in the shin my breathing became even more wheezy and shorter and for a split second, I was properly, properly terrified.

At this point my normal brain kicked in and I realised the noise wasn't in synch with my own breathing in any way and as I turned to Bry to check he was alright, I realised it was not a human sound at all - but Boris the cat lying at my feet, sprawled (literally) in a star shape doing a wheezing / purring / dreaming type thing

Oh my god. He got a good shove off the bed after that and I admit to rolling over and having a little giggle at my stupidity before falling asleep into a restful (and very grateful) slumber.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.