Running for the Commonwealth

An early start this morning saw me on the 7.30 train to Glasgow. I met Michael on the train and we went to see the Commonwealth Games marathon. Michael had done his research on the runners and so filled me in on their stats on the way and while we were there. I knew of a few runners in the field, but the only one I've been following recently is Aly Dixon from Sunderland (centre of the front line of runners in this photo).

We were stood in Glasgow Green, which meant we saw the start of the Men and Women's marathons, mile 13, and the finish of each race.

This is the start of the women's race, won by Kenya's Flomena Cheyech Daniel in a time of 2:26:45. The men's race was won by Australia's Michael Shelley in 2:11:15. Crazily fast running.

There was a bit of drama, with a Namibian woman struggling to finish and collapsing over the finish line, and sadly, Dixon was looking in a lot pain at the halfway point and didn't finish in the end. I hope they're both ok and Aly isn't injured too badly.

We stayed in Glasgow Green to watch some of the Quarter Finals of the Rugby Sevens. I'm now just on the train home looking forward to a quiet night in with Wesley.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.