A different view...

...whit a day. I worked from home as I was in Edinburgh this evening delivering some training. It was a hectic day on the old laptop and I was a tad frazzled by the time I left the house to catch my train to Edinburgh.

I opted to take the bike to Edinburgh to help me get about the City. I used to take the bike all the time on the train but there was a reason I stopped this...there were too many bikes going on trains and you were not guaranteed to get on your train:-/

Platform at Stirling Station...mobbed, oh Celtic are playing at Murrayfield because Celtic Park is being used for Commonwealth Games opening ceremony tomorrow night. Two bikes waiting...I make three. Train arrives...two carriages...two boys with BMX bikes come out from behind the vending machine...five bikes...loads of people...two carriages. I could not get on the train that would get me to Edinburgh in good time!!!!

Hang about for half an hour and get the next train that for whatever reason takes over an hour to get to Edinburgh...I am already late as the train pulls into Waverley and stops at the farthest away platform.

Storm along the platform and get to the road...mount bike...head out of station. Oh, wait a minute the ramps are up, nae bother I'll squeeze through the middle of those on the bike...yeah! Oh, no the barriers are down...I can't go over them...I can't go round them...I'll need to go under them! Dismount bike...put it on it's side to get it under barrier...crawl under barrier with bike...yeah I am out of the station.

OK, left then left again...and head towards Abbeyhill...oh wait a minute that second left...the road is closed....Arrgghh! I'll need to head up towards Princes Street.

Arrive at training, late...and very warm...it is a roasting hot day! Anyway, get set-up and have a good training session. Good group of people giving up their time to work for a Yes vote in September.

Training session over I am heading to meet some friends for a wee drink. Get on my bike and the chain has somehow managed to jump off and I can't get it back on...push bike to hostelry!

Blip Parliament from different view.

Enjoy a couple of hours of good cheer and banter:-) Balance is restored.

Push bike to station and call Mr R and ask if he will collect bike and me from Stirling. He will...hurrah!

Of course...the train pulls into Stirling station at the furthest away platform:-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.