Propping up the bar

I had a lovely cycle ride into work and back today. It was very warm but there was a sea breeze which was nice, and as I've had an extremely busy couple of days preparing papers for a conference tomorrow, it was really nice to be out in the fresh air.

I nipped out to the station at lunch time to book my tickets to London on Saturday - Rachel and Scarlett are coming down for the day and we're going to London Zoo :-) While I was there I went into the new bar/restaurant - not for a drink but just to take this photo. I saw it when I went to London the other weekend and love the way they've used old suitcases to prop up the bar.

In other news, we made an offer on the house we saw last night - they didn't accept it, but we've increased slightly, so we'll find out tomorrow if it's ours. We're keeping our fingers crossed as we love the house, and it's at the top of our budget, so we can't go any higher.

There's also been some very sad news today - the pier at Eastbourne set on fire. According to the news reports they managed to evacuate it very quickly and it doesn't seem to have spread to the buildings on the end, so hopefully they'll be able to re-build it. It's such a shame!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.