Carol: Rosie & Mr. Fun

By Carol

The Gift of Time

I love this man more than words can convey.

He was 17 or 18 the first time we met. We've both changed considerably through the years, and while we are not those young teenagers anymore, deep inside we still are those teenagers, and so much more.

Our daughter would say he's a "goober" standing there in his floppy hat.

For me, he is the man who I have shared miles and miles and hours and hours of life with. He is the father of our children. I think we are better at being partners, than being parents, but we have at least accomplished parenting together. We've built career vocations together, enjoyed sports together, traveled to interesting places together, developed and enjoyed friendships with others together, enjoyed reading books together, and on and on.

And now he is retired.

A friend told us "Retirement is a gift of time." We agree. And over the past dozen or so years we have realized that our time is worth more than our money.

I am thoroughly enjoying this first season, this summer, of his retirement as he steps into the pleasure of leisurely selecting his daily schedule with a lack of pressure and hurry and with few obligations to others.

I really like this picture of him captured in a quick moment with my iPhone as I walked past him and I was holding the handle of two dogs on leashes. He seems to be in a moment of deep contemplation (that phrase would cause him to laugh).

I like the photo. I love him. This is our 50th summer together.

From California's Central Coast at evening's low tide,
Rosie (& Mr. Fun, and Max), aka Carol

P.S. Mitzi and Chloe did not get in this picture!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.