Remembering....

With Remembrance services taking place around the world today, to mark 100 years since the start of World War I, I walked into town to photograph our war memorial, where a Remembrance service is being held this evening at 10pm. However my photos didn't do justice to the significance of the day.

As Remembrance Sunday in November always does, today has made me think about my paternal Grandfather who was one of the many who fought in WW1 . He was wounded at Gallipoli, but then having recovered, went on to take part in the Batttle of the Somme where he was shot a second time. But he was one of the lucky ones, he came home.

Looking through the family photos, I was unable to find a picture of my Grandfather in his military uniform, but I did find this photo of my Father in his Royal Marines dress uniform, when he was carrying out his National Service between 1947 and 1949.

A poignant day...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.