My Best Efforts - Year 3

By AMC

Crinum.......

.........about 6 yrs ago I had a lot of unwanted shrubs etc - planted by the previous occupant - removed and visited my local Garden Centre for fresh stock.

The morning I was there, the Centre had a "lucky dip" box and every customer could select an item. I picked a rather large bulb with no idea as to what it was. Come early Summer a lot of very large leaves appeared but nothing else and nothing except the leaves every year since.

This year I thinned down the planting a bit more and, this week, to my delight, this lovely flower head appeared - it has now opened into this beautiful pink multi-headed bloom. Maybe it's a lucky plant - there seem to be little horseshoes in it !

I still had no idea as to what it was - thanks to my RHS "bible", I have now discovered it is a Crinum - otherwise known as a Swamp Lily. (not a very nice name for such a lovely flower!!!)

The RHS says "GenusCrinum are bulbous perennials, sometimes evergreen, with umbels of showy, fragrant, funnel-shaped flowers held well above the strap-shaped leaves.

Grow in moist but well-drained, deep, humus-rich, fertile soil. Intolerant of waterlogging and may need some protection from frosts in colder areas. Keep neck of the bulb just proud of the soil."

Another source suggests it is indestructible - we shall see! - it can't spread too much for me!

So, it this case, my patience has been rewarded - so glad I didn't bin it!!

Another very warm day but with both sun and clouds - temperature at 74 Deg,F. and a very nice breeze

Have a lovely day.




Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.