".. if one could but go to Brighton!"

One could. Everyone else was otherwise occupied so I caught a bus to the seaside. So much to do and see! I started off at the excellent museum, highlights of which were a floor of costumes and a special exhibit about World War One. This was told through the voices of different characters who lived through the war, including soldiers (British and German), nurses, Belgian refugees, and conscientious objectors. It was very sobering.
Next, I toured the Brighton Pavillion, built for George IV. A truly amazing building, Indian on the outside and Chinese on the inside, sumptuously furnished and decorated. Best of all was the chandelier in the Banqueting Room, held in the claws of a 12ft silver dragon and weighing an imperial ton.
The afternoon was spent along the seafront and on the pier, where I took a lot of photos of people enjoying all the fun of the fair.
I do like to be beside the seaside.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.