Raft building

An early start and an hours drive to join the BB on their summer camp. After morning prayer we had a couple of hours of archery. The youngsters gave a loud cheer when I hit the bullseye. After a few rounds on the usual target the instructor placed water bottles for us to try and hit. I managed to hit two of them and knock a third.

After lunch it was time for a raft building competition and race. Five teams were given two poles, three barrels and some rope. The left picture is my team's raft with my three team mates as we tested our vessel. The race was to get each member of the team over to the island and back. Our first member made it very well, during the second trip the raft started to collapse. By the time it was my turn the front had disintegrated. The right picture is my run, with a little help from my team mate. Yes, the water was full of weed but was still authorised for these water sports! Yuk!

After the evening meal it was time for a full "proper" game of cricket. I've never played proper cricket before and I don't understand it. My team were happy with my three runs before I got caught out though.

After cricket it was time for me to leave as I'd spent 11hrs on camp. It was a great day which I really enjoyed and I think I've earnt some extra points with the youngsters for joining in.

It was lovely to get a nice, clean, hot shower when I got home.

>>>>>>>>>
p.s
This day last year was the mid point of my Big Adventure. I classed it as a turning point. It was, in more ways than one, as it was also the day of the interview for my current post (which I couldn't say on blip). Gosh, is that really a whole year ago?!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.