jillington

By jillington

Resting up

During the summer months Smitty spends the night outside, the "midnight" shift. It exhausts her so she naps until it's time to go out again.

This evening, as I pulled weeds in the garden, semi's on the road started honking like crazy. Turns out they were honking to pay homage for a burial party arriving in the cemetary for a fallen Firefighter. Lots of emergency equipment was there, lights flashing, as the comrades paid their last respects. I could clearly hear the bagpipe playing "Amazing Grace". I thought about how lucky we are that there are men willing to run into a burning building for us, many volunteers. I decided against photographing it even though the people there probably wouldn't have seen me. Leave them to their grief. I love it, though, that even in death they remain brothers.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.