Off Centre

By RachelCarter

Modern decathlon

People get medals for doing three things really well, for doing five things really well, and for doing ten things really well. There may be other athlons* but I'm not aware of them.

I don't need a medal or fame or recognition. But, on behalf of people wearing themselves out and doing at least ten things really well every day for no medals whatsoever, here is today's decathlon:

1. I won at tea-drinking
2. I was the only one who completed the clothes washing
3. I was the best at making a shopping list
4. Richard and I won in the supermarket relay and completed the shopping in record time.
5. My free-style picnic-making, partial-shopping-putting-away, washing-hanging-out and getting-changed circuit of the house wowed my audience (a dog)
6. I picked up extra points for cycling 14 miles and not having an icecream when the all other competitors consumed one in front of me.
7. I walked the dog, doing 20 minutes of non-stop stomping - with no camera (!)
8. I gathered some veg for a meal and didn't get distracted (much) by other things I really really really wanted to do outside.
9. I cooked a healthy meal and watched 2 offspring push it around their plates because it was healthy, and I didn't get cross (even though I was hungry and wasn't having any myself because Richard is working this evening and I'm eating with him when he gets in at about 10 o'clock).
10. I finished putting away the shopping, and tidied the kitchen and sat down with a glass of wine after only swearing thirty-eight (squillion) times, and only getting picked on by inanimate objects every few seconds.


(If I could pick up a special award for today it would be for putting up with grumpy people, and people who cycle side-by-side on a narrow cycle path when there are CLEARY OTHER CYCLISTS coming towards them who have to crash into the hedge on their behalf. Stop doing that you selfish people!)

And the reason I don't want a fuss for being so brilliant is because I can't stand the National Anthem.

Maybe a Queen Latifah number....

*Heptathlon
*teflon ;)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.