DevonDumpling

By DevonDumpling

'Traveller's Joy Fairy'

Traveller, traveller, tramping by
To the seaport town where the big ships lie.
See, I have built a shady bower
To shelter you from the sun or shower.
Rest for a bit, then on, my boy!
Luck go with you, and Traveller's Joy!

Traveller, traveller, tramping home
From foreign places beyond the foam,
See, I have hung out a white festoon
To greet the lad with the dusty shoon.
Somewhere a lass looks out for a boy:
Luck be with you, and Traveller's Joy!

Taken from The Complete Book of the Flower Fairies by Cicely Mary Barker....one of my favourite books, I regularly take it from the book shelf and look at the exquisite paintings.

This is Wild Clematis also known as Grandfathers Beard, Old Man's Beard and Traveller's Joy....watch this space for Old Man's Beard!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.