CalMac

We all rang the changes this morning with French Toast, bacon and maple syrup but the rain was back in force for our drive to Oban for the ferry to Mull. It felt a bit as if we drove to the end of everything, then got on a ferry over the sea and then drove some more! We even had to stop in Tobermory and get more directions before we could find the tiny road into the Glengorm Estate along which our cottage is situated. At least the Highland cattle were out in force to welcome us, standing in the rain, though they'd all noticeably cleared off somewhere else by the time I'd decanted the suitcases from the car and gone back outside to take their pictures. We contented ourselves with a quick run in to Tobermory for supplies and an evening in front of the last night of athletics from Glasgow. Music: problematic; for Song of the Day there's a choice of two, really: either 'Lynn-Marie' by Ultra Vivid Scene, which - demonstrating the dangerous way in which the music-starved mind starts free-associating - I got stuck in my head all morning after seeing a sign which read 'Linnhe Marine' (Linnhe is the loch on whose banks Fort William is situated), or The Pastels 'Truck Train Tractor.' I've got this new iPad thingy so I'd uploaded some choice listening to Dropbox to avoid tackling iTunes but we've only got intermittent internet access in our cottage if you stand in the corridor outside the kitchen so that's been a bit of a fail apart from a magic four minutes where the World Wide Web allowed me to enjoy the Pastels track. Aferwards, I gave up. There's a ghetto blaster type affair in one of the bedrooms that I've moved to the kitchen - no aux-in port for the iPod cable, no radio reception to speak of but there were a few CDs in the car, so I've got 'Scary Monsters', Camera Obscura and Simon and Garfunkel to at least keep me sane for a day or two...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.