Life in a Northern Town

By kagsy

Karma

I negotiated a day to myself today - Grandpa is away this weekend and so Sunday was free - a rarity. I intended to drive to the Dales, take photos, eat pub food, take more photos, eat more pub food then drive home early evening.

My karma for this was Hurricane Bertha.

Not to be deterred, I decided to drive to Manchester. The M62 threw a hissy fit and I ended up driving over Saddleworth Moor, and through Oldham in the fog pouring rain (actually, fog is somewhat of blessing.....) My karma for this was that the weather in Manchester was ok - not a breath of wind, some blue sky, pleasantly warm.

I had brunch in Harvey Nichols, balanced out with shopping in Primark. I even let a posh cosmetics lady put make-up on me (which was an expensive error in judgment). It was lovely. Thought I'd round the day off with coffee and cake in Selfridges.

My karma for this was that when I got outside, the typhoon had hit. I was instantly soaked and the drive home was horrific. And the karma really peaked when I got home - I was greeted by my son holding his arm and none of them knowing what the hell to do without Mum there.

So straight to casualty. One broken elbow. Caused by a fall playing with the dog on wet grass. Second broken bone caused by the hound in 3 months. She should be registered as a dangerous beast!

Instant Karma's gonna get you!


PS Pot Noodle for tea!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.