Aperture on Life

By SheenaghMclaren

The Grass is always Greener

The yard at the back of the house is now a no man's land. I've strimmed it once but it really isn't anyone's at the moment. I'm secretly enjoying the process of how a place which was, until this time last year, a gravel surface, pecked clean by many chicken, duck and geese is reverting back to nature. The wild flowers have been sensational. That's not surprising given the amount of manure that lurks under the stones.

My neighbour and I looked at it the other day and contemplated a bottle of round up but, it's pretty and not doing any harm so have decided to leave it. I'll give it another strim if it gets too far out of order. In the meantime, a couple of Rogers steers got out of the field this afternoon and I found them grazing on the weeds. Natural weedkiller! They were in the wrong place but brought the wilderness back to life for the short time they stayed. I couldn't resist a pic.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.