Aperture on Life

By SheenaghMclaren

Bracklesham Bay

Why, I don't know, other than spring tides baring the beach and that the rain was tipping down here, I decided to go down to Bracklesham Bay.

The shallow waters of Bracklesham is a wind surfers paradise. I unfortunately left just as the most, having finished work, headed for the beach. I would have wanted to stay for the sunset and moonrise but wouldn't have got back in time to get to work. The sand was blowing around so changing from a wide angle lens to take good shots of the surfers was too risky.

Bracklesham is a place where dogs are welcome and as a bonus the Bracklesham Beds from the Eocene are exposed on the sand at low tide so it's very easy to find fossils. The rough sea and very low tide today brought out entire families with sieves and collecting boxes. I picked up a few as I walked along but didn't find the elusive sharks tooth this time. I was wondering if it could be another place to take the group who are joining me nearby on Saturday but apart from a couple of places where shell ridden fossil beds stick out from the sand and the surfers, it's a pretty barren landscape.








Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.