Highly Unsprung

By CynicalWench

Over the Sea to....Northern Ireland

'Twas no less than a miracle that we got up at 4am in time to make the journey across Scotland to get to Troon at 10am to catch the ferry. Good thing: The roads were as quiet as the kids. Silly thing: My covert texting came good and the radio 2 DJ gave us all a big shout out, much to Dave and Kids' disbelief.

Troon was, well Troon, although it did give us the option of staying classy with some Greig's Yum Yums early in the morning. Nature boy even squeezed in some bird watching at the beach before we boarded the deckless ferry. I repeat, Deckless. So no titanic Rose and Jack inspired arm stretching reenacting for Dave and me at the bough then. Shame. (Although technically, Dave's arms aren't probably long enough to hold around my well padded tummy, but I would have given some good Celine Dionne).

After a smooth crossing which involved Sam and Tess really annoy each other - and us - it was on to Northern Ireland. I do declare that it is a dear green place, very beautiful and green, parcelled into small fields bounded by hedgerow after hedgerow. This took a while to register with me though, as I was distracted by the Union Jack flags flying from every blinking stick, lamppost, porch or anyone who stood still long enough to have the misfortune of being wrapped in one, and I was surprised how intimidated I felt at the UVF paramilitary flags.

But back to the bigger picture, and on to Cullybacky to stay with the Stones. After some big hellos, the girls squealing at being reunited, a tour o' the new hoose, a wee cuppy tea and a sitty doon, we went off to see their new building in Ballymena. It's hugely fantastic and led to impromptu rules-out-the-window games of basketball and badminton. Not bad after a 4am start.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.