Proud Weegie

By Shiv

Here's one I made earlier....

Back to work....really tired.

Managed to sew the buttons on this purple Cardi for No 3. She picked the buttons. There were loads of buttons to choose from that my mum hoarded in the old Singer Sewing machine that belonged to my grandmother (and I am the caretaker of).

My mum was a big button hoarder - she HATED to pay for anything she could recycle. Tights with a rip in them had the ripped leg cut off at the top, and we had to wear two pairs at the same time. Worn sheets were ripped in half and the outside sewn to the middle. Until I grew up I thought bananas were meant to be a bit black (they were cheaper). We still laugh when we tell the story of her smartening up a pair of old (but still comfy) sandals by painting them with gloss paint!

She even went through a phase of dying all the discoloured underwear (usually a washed out pink or black!) - and we came home from school to find a washing line full of strangely coloured underwear.

I hated it at the time - but it makes me chuckle now that we are in our Recycled Society.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.