f/Stop f/Start again

By annewokingham

Mendhi

I was asked to film the events at a Mendhi last night...

Mendhi - "the art or practice of applying temporary henna tattoos, especially as part of a bride or groom's preparations for a wedding."

I was quite surprised therefore that no tattooing actually took place. ( I think this happens the day before the wedding which is next week).

Instead, the bride to be held a large leaf in her hand (Laurel I think) and each of her guests , all female, in turn sat next to her on the sofa , put a small amount of henna paste on the leaf, fed her some fruit, and dropped some money into a large jar.

We later all enjoyed a wonderful curry and and there was an amazing display of sweets, not desserts, SWEETS to follow. I have never seen so much sugar in once place! No alcohol, but who needed it with all that sugar?

It was a very colourful occasion and whilst not filming I took a few photos. A community centre had been transformed for the occasion, and as darkness fell, the dance floor lit up as well as some of the furniture. An interesting experience.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.