mrsc48

By mrsc48

Darkness again!

This was the scene earlier in our house. I would say 'picture the scene, it was dark' and thats it, it was dark. There is no scene to picture just black darkness. Until we found a light in the form of my teenage daughters mobile phone. Mine had run out of charge before we lost the daylight completely.

You see at 4pm just as the great british mens relay team were lining up and about to get in their starting blocks the leccy went off and it stayed off. So I had no idea I had missed another gold medal at the european athletic cgampionships. Not even able to see the ladies either, which would have been good given one of the teams forgot a vital piece of equipment - the baton! Gosh I bet she was popular, how do you say "oh well it doesn't matter" on that one.

So, no leccy, no sport and tea just about ruined - I got mine some of the family decided to wait for the leccy to come back on, needless to say they are now starving!

I thought I'd better ring the leccy board and see what was going on, how many of us now have phones connected to the leccy? we do so I had to use my mobile, thank the lord for the vodafone because I have a signal! Only it cost me 14p per minute, robbers, but I chose my options carefully, wouldn"t accept my mobile phone number or my postcode, after clarifying x2 the automated lady told me I would speak to someone, brill, about time. Noooo I started the whole flaming automated process again and it wouldn't accept my details again. I couldn't slam the phone down but I fair pointed at the red button on my mobile to end the call.

What now? I rang british gas who surprisingly supply our electric. They would find out for me what was going on. There is a fault, it will be on at 7.30pm and if not then it will be 1.30am. Thankyou british gas. At 7.30 It came back on, everyone piles downstairs for tea! it went off at 7.35 again. Everyone went back upstairs. This was the pattern to follow all night. On, Off, on, off! so that is why I have another picture of darkness.

Thankfully I was able to speak to someone in the daylight hours as my phone ran out of charge just after.

I would like to thank British gas for helping me and Vodafone for supplying me a signal.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.