Fido

By Fido

Boy with a bandy net

The middle boy has been wanting to go fishing for ages. Perhaps since Christmas when he was given an absolutely gorgeous navy blue joules jumper from my uncle, which I stupidly referred to as his fishing jumper, and which he has hardly ever worn because, well, he isn't fishing (never one to wear the wrong attire for a sport, this one).

I half promised we would fish when we went on our west coast adventure last week (photos still on the sd card), but that was before I considered the logistics of me being there with 4 boys, in a tent, and without a clue about how to actually get started with a fishing rod. Anyway, undeterred, my middle boy bought a bandy net with his pocket money, just as we were about to board the ferry to come home, and has been keen to use it ever since.

We didn't have enough time to make it all the way to the beach today but we did make it up to the pond at Castle Fraser where the older boys had a great time discovering pond skaters and back swimmers, the odd frog and still countless numbers of damselflies, and the little one just scrambled around pointing at all the wonders of the world, as is his want.

School tomorrow. The bags are packed, the pencils sharpened and everything needing named is tagged. The littlest also has a trial session at his childminders in the morning, ahead of me going back to work next week.

The boys are ready. I'm not sure I am.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.