Larry's Story.

After the gym, i headed up to the church. When i arrived, Kevin poured me a cup of tea. I noticed that there was a youngish man sitting there, who i had never seen before. Kevin introduced us, and it turned out he was homeless and living under a bridge in the town. He seemed quite articulate, although i don't know the whole story. He said he had been homeless for the last two months. I asked him what he would need to do to get a home and he said, have loads of kids, or be disabled. He said he had been offered a job, but when they found out he was of no fixed abode, they couldn't employ him. I asked him what does he do all day, and he said, that he goes down the library, and spends some time on the computer. The rest of the day he wanders around town, and the makes his way back to the sleep under the bridge by the river . A few minutes later, another guy, called Larry walked in. I have met him before, and although he has learning difficulties he is very very intelligent. He always asks my name and then says, i can spell that, and he does. It is not an easy name to spell, but he gets it right. Larry lives in a home just around the corner,and has a weakness for chocolate biscuits, and he polishes off quite a few on his visits. He got up to leave, and i followed not long after. I met him just outside and i asked him if i could take his photo. He said yes please, and as i took his photo , he insisted on taking his hat off for me. I said i would take in the photos for him next Friday. With that he put his arms around my neck and gave me the biggest hug, ever. I can't wait for next Friday, to give him a photo ,which i will put in a frame. Tonight, when i climb into my warm bed, i will think of Steve, sleeping under the bridge, and Larry, who is so grateful, for something so simple. I have a lot to be thankful for.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.