End of the summer for the farmer

Well the local farmer (discovered he's called Matthais - no idea of spelling) is pulling in his red piece of string.

He uses this string to stop his cows going onto the road and marks off the extremity of where they can roam. For some reason, cows don't like red string.

He marks out the top end of the valley in mid/late June, and puts it all away at the end of August. He's actually doing this a week earlier than normal. Yet another person who has had enough of the summer.

Myself and Matthias have some interesting conversations. He has no idea what I say, and I have no idea what he says. He reckons my umbrella is a sun umbrella - which would explain it's ability to leak. I gather that there was a rock fall on the other side of the valley, and the girl who died was called Andrea.

He has one tooth left. And he only speaks German.

And the German thing has really screwed with my Italian numbers, drei-mille. Yeah, my hotel had fun with that earlier - they all speak German as well as Italian, so I managed to bastardise both languages in one hit.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.