Gaia's Child

By maura143

Check the list: Milk, Bread and...

a Polyphemus Moth, (Anthera polyphemus)!

You never know what you might find at the grocery store. I was there early, 7:30am or so, and I spotted it on the way in. Attached to a white wall, this large nocturnal moth was not very well camouflaged. Not having my 'Real Camera' with me I took a couple of shots with my iPhone. When I looked at the images on my computer, they were way below my (cough, cough) blipping standards. When I checked the field guide and realized that it's wings were not fully open and the two large 'eye' spots weren't visible, I headed back to the store, Canon in hand.

I used a leaf to tickle the moth just enough to get him to open his wings but not enough to piss him off anger him. I know it's a 'him' by his large, feathery antennae which he uses to detect pheromones released by unmated females. Females of the species have less 'bushy' antennae. This moth is named after Polyphemus, the one-eyed giant of Greek Mythology. HERE'S where I found the Polyphemus.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.