Munroist4113

By Munroist4113

Jane Austen Workshop

We've had another great day. We were among the 24 taking part in the John Mullen (UCL Prof of English, Guardian writer, TV presenter) Workshop on "Mansfield Park" this morning. He said he was going to persuade us that Fanny Price was of greater value than some of us (certainly me) though, but we didn't quite get to Fanny as we were discussing the Crawfords, how Jane Austen could convey so much about characters, etc etc - which was presumably his point - Fanny is easy to overlook. Oh how I wish I was an English literature student with him to teach me. He is so stimulating, interesting and fun. (No point in commenting on the next lecture I attended, by a chap who'd written about neuro-science and four men who'd worked in the field, from WWI - interesting of course but nothing could come up to a study session with John Mullen).

Ps I didn't overhear anything being discussed on the streets today about the referendum and the police did not need to board the train to calm anyone down.

Sent from my iPad

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.