asm929

By asm929

The hills are alive

Whenever I walk Riley on the pasture hill across from our house, I almost feel like spinning around and singing songs from The Sound of Music. It's not exactly the Austrian mountains, but it's quite a view nonetheless.

Muggy and warm today, loving every minute of it. I had a lot of errands today, and brought home takeout food for dinner. Spaghetti and meatballs for Mr M and a turkey sandwich for me.

Later when I was walking Riley, we returned and I could see something sitting in our utility vehicle. Turns out it was a very sweet female yellow labrador retriever. She had a collar and registration tag, but I would need to call the county courthouse to identify her from that, and couldn't do that until the morning. So we started calling around to our neighbors to see if anyone knew where she belonged. I gave her a bowl of food and she gobbled it up. Also she was soaking wet -must have gone swimming in a pond on her travels. I put her in Riley's fence and she played and played with a rubber ball. Finally one neighbor said a dog had been making the rounds before and suggested who she might belong to. We drove her over there (she jumped right into the truck, no hesitation) and sure enough, her name turned out to be Daisy and she greeted her master with even more enthusiasm. He'd better be careful because one of these times someone will keep her. Mr Mr wanted to!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.