Home in time

Sometimes my job resembles that of a detective. The answer is found through diligent searching of the data that have been collected about a person by others, and making sense of it in order to know what is needed now. This appears to be particularly so in the role I have at the moment.

Today I was able by reading the file, looking at time lines, and talking to the patient's son and daughter to understand the time course of her deteriorating cognitive function and know that the best intervention was to stop the medication she had been put on. Proof of the pudding is in the eating, of course, and that is still to come.

Left the hospital a little early to see a patient at the rooms who had to be moved from her appointment time tomorrow as I have to go back to the dentist and get some actual treatment. A pleasing consultation, as she has come out of a long term depression. The challenge now is to help her stay well.

Then home.

In time to see and talk to my grandsons and their mother as they left for home. Both boys ran up the stairs to have a "Grandpa cuddle". Mr H warned me that Young L had a riddle/joke for me. Before partaking of the cuddle Young L asked "Why did the bird cross the road?" To get to the other side I suggested. "No. Because it has a broken wing" was the triumphant response. Seeing my bemusement, Mr H explained. "It couldn't fly". One thick Grandpa!!

In time to see and photograph this wonderful sunset. Best seen large.

In time to spend a half hour with daughter J enjoying a relaxing glass of red wine, before taking her out to a gathering in the Green Room. I suspect it is a Green Party gathering, as she is campaign manager for the local candidate.

Now time for a restful evening

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.