Our Journey is a process

By journeysprocess

Flatirons

Another day of rain! The clouds were really ugly for sometime.

I finally finished packing out most of the garage. All that remains are J's tools. And I started sorting through the many boxes of photographs that my father in law had taken over the years. I knew he liked photography, but he must have taken tens of thousands of pictures. I also found his two film cameras - a Nikon F and a Canon EOS 650 with several Canon lenses.

But sorting through the photos, negatives and slides is a daunting task, as is everything related to my "in-laws". J is still trying to sort through all of the coins and stamps to see if they have any value. We were shocked to find that most of the jewelry that my mother in law had was very fine, but no one would buy them because the cut of the stones are not in fashion anymore.

We have learned so much through this experience. Things - whatever they are - never hold the value that we think they will. And that includes gold, silver, precious stones, coins, stamps, collectables, stocks, bonds, etc., etc., etc. It ends up being a bigger burden for the family in the end.

We did run a few errands today, and while we were out, I caught this shot of the Flatirons between storms.

With all this rain, we are beginning to feel like we are in Oregon!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.