Bike Day!

Last two years I've kinda missed Stelvio Bike Day. First year we were all geared for it - and it snowed the day before so got cancelled. Last year, I decided for some reason not to bother - missed a day of 12,000 cyclists......

So decided to do it this year. No idea of numbers, and my total for the day was actually lower than I expected ----- 16,000 fotos? Really expected to be in the 25-30k range.

But was interesting to sit there snapping away - 4,000 photos per hour for 3 hours is my about as fast as I can acquire images and is close to a physical limit - you brace for 3 hours and it hurts, I mean it hurts across your arms, wrists, shoulders and back. I really cannot go much quicker than that for any length of time. Made a big mistake running out of painkillers - that headache would not shift yesterday. Today, no painkillers....

After the "up" rush was over, I could have started on the "down" folk, but frankly, I was (and am still) aching way too much. I figure I lost 2-4k of down shots easily. I don't care.

The annoying thing is that after the pass opened at 4pm - it opened to bikers. Again, too much pain to go back out on the pass.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.