Red Admiral again

I'm not very good at DIY but some of the jobs that occur can be a bit tricky even for the professionals.

I have two smoke alarms, one upstairs and one downstairs. They are hard wired to the mains, but have backup batteries. First of all, the upstairs one started to beep - regularly but relatively unobtrusively. You noticed it from time to time. I climbed up and tried to get the cover off, but I couldn't. So I looked it up on the web. Apparently, these are notorious, and can be quite hazardous. I tried a few times, but then Sparkie and I didn't really worry too much about the beep - although visitors always commented. After a few months, it stopped (run out of steam I suppose).

Then the downstairs one started. The cover wasn't as fixed, but it still wouldn't stop.

The overflow to the loo in the bathroom started, well, overflowing. So I called out my great decorator/plumber/handyman. (It seemed necessary, unlike the smoke alarms).

He's been brilliant. He had to totally dismantle the loo and fit lots of new parts, but it seems to be sorted. Then he managed to sort BOTH of the smoke alarms. I also have new light bulbs in the en suite shower, kitchen etc.... and the handle on the cutlery drawer has been replaced.

All that, and I had time to go up to Christian Fields, and caught a few rays of sunshine and butterflies.

It's been a nice, productive Sunday

Hope you've all had a good weekend.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.