Dickon's Robin?

The walled garden at Brodick Castle does remind me of the much more splendidly overgrown and secret garden of the children's novel; so that any cheeky robin who appears on the information placard might know Mary and the charismatic Dickon!

Just a coffee visit to the Castle, marred by witnessing an act of vandalism: a mature woman, dragging and pulling a flower head from a lovely lace cap hydrangea, to put behind her ear and pose for those with her, totally unphased by my expression of horror.

Did I use my camera to 'catch' her? -no; did I say something to her? -no, struck dumb as I was. I did however, report the incident to a member of staff, but the culprit had removed her hair decoration by the time she arrived at the castle door. I so wish I had spoken out. Although she was clearly in a caring role with three of the adults she was accompanying , and made them laugh a bit anxiously, it would do those people a disservice to suggest that their challenges somehow 'excused' her behaviour, but I did not want to upset them. Perhaps I should have asked to speak to her privately? I was really taken aback by her actions.

Then later, watching two cyclists ahead of us pull away as we slowed to obey the Lamlash 30 mph sign while they raced on at about 35 to 40!!! Nowt as queer as fowk!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.