Muttley's Musings

By RuralDave

My new wheels

I collected my new purchase last night. After 15 years with the same bike I have decided to upgrade to a new more modern model, and perhaps one more suited to my blip roaming rides. After some advice from my cycling friends I have opted for a hybrid bike over another mountain bike, or a racer. I resisted the temptation to be totally sucked in by the Tour De France Yorkshire vibe, and opted for a more practical option.

After setting it up last night and adding my carrier and lights etc and a very short test ride, I took the mighty stead out for a bit of a longer ride to check things over and adjust the saddle position etc. I must admit that it feels totally different to my old bike, very responsive, and it seems to move faster than the old bike, probably due to the road tyres.

The first major ride will be in just over a weeks time when I take part in the Sky Ride in York with my Dad. I'm looking forward to riding the streets of historic York, and possibly part of the Tour De France route too.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.