Dear Photo Diary

By rutherfordium

University College Cork

Another slightly educational blip from me today! Since I haven't been working in Cork since I started blipping I thought I'd post a picture of the University here.

University College Cork was set up by Queen Victoria in 1845 as a sister college to the University I work at (Queen's University, Belfast) and was originally known as Queen's College, Cork. Queen's College, Galway was also founded at this time. The main quadrangle is a replica of Christ Church College, in Oxford, and is all built from local grey stone. I have heard a rumour that the plans for this building and our main building in Belfast got mixed up at some stage but I find that very hard to believe!

I knew I'd be flat out with work today so this was snapped very quickly on my walk through the campus this morning. I hoped to get a better photo of the main building lit up by sunshine in the afternoon but the clouds disagreed so this is my shot for the day :)



PS: Spotlight page for three days in a row (albeit briefly) - wow! So chuffed, thanks everyone :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.