XV. I'm sitting now...

...around the block at my local bookshop. Rosa, the sister of the owner, has just introduced me to the ladies at the table beside me. The lady on the left is Cristina Peri Rossi, a writer and poet, who has just published, to much acclaim, an account of her long relationship with the Argentinian writer Julio Cortázar y Cris (that's also the title of the book). Many say Cortázar was the pre-eminent writer of his time from South America.

The presentation of her book took place here a few weeks ago. She was kind enough to take an interest in my own writing and inscribe a copy of her book, as follows, ’For Alan, Wishing you much luck with your book which surely will be an historic and personal document. Greetings, Cristina.' What more inspiring way to end the ’I'm sitting now...' series! Better get back to it!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.