bivbov

By bivbov

Relaxez vous Bevoir

"When was the last time you had wine in the bath by candlelight?"

"Never"

Well, there's a first time for everything!!

It's been an emotional day!! I ran the Great North Run - a yearly bit of fun with my sister! Only, for some reason, I didn't find it fun!!! I left our cottage feeling stressed and forgot my watch, gels, and other comforters. I also had in the back of my mind that there'd be a terrible incident (57,000 runners and their supporters = sitting ducks!!!) I got to 5k and decided I didn't want to be there. I hid in a portaloo and gave myself a talking to. I'm not sure how long I was in there. I passed 1/2 way and didn't feel any better, so I hid in another portaloo. I think I would have emerged with the same mindset, had it not been for Tanni Grey-Thompson telling me to "keep running Bev" as she handed me some water. I became focused on what an inspirational event it is! How fantastic humans can be, rather than how awful they can be, and how lucky I am to have my health and fitness. I kept running from then on, apart from a brief stop to kiss my 3 boys at 12 miles. My sister, who spent last Sunday in A&E having her knees stitched after a fall whilst out running, also finished! I think she is my hero today!!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.