Every Picture Tells .....

By ROBERT10

64.133

At 64.133 degrees north, it's the most northerly capital city in the world.

A 3:30 am wake-up call meant we landed in Iceland before 10:00 am local time. It's a bit wet and grey and the temperatures are struggling to get above 10 C.

This is one of the main streets in Reykjavik. It feels more like a town than a capital city. Even though a cruise ship is in port, it's not exactly crowded. There's bakeries, coffee shops all intermingled with Rolex and knitwear in what I suppose is Iceland's answer to Oxford Street. There's even a flock of geese pecking at the grass near the centre of the city.

Hallgrimskirkja church, at the top of this street, is one of Reykjavík's main landmarks. It's tower can be seen from almost everywhere in the city. It was completed in 1986. I'll probably get to see it close up another day.

I've booked the car hire for the rest of week. A lot if the roads are gravel, F-roads are for 4wd vehicles only and I'm not insured if I drive into a river or a snowdrift.

Hope to have some better photos later in the week, but since I have been up 21 hours it time to get my head down.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.