My world

My two favourite people.
Knowing I am coming home to them every day makes all the other nonsense bearable.

Today, I have dried tears, tied shoelaces (honestly!), taught, chatted to students, marked books, stuffed envelopes, moved furniture and had to stand my ground and remind others that our job is more than just numbers on a sheet.

Most of the day was great, but was tarnished just a tad with what felt like a combative conversation later in the day. I wish that "teaching is about children" wasn't just rhetoric and that children were not reduced to statistics on a sheet. I wish that those that scrutinise performance would consider the wider range of measures that are important and that brought people like me, and my amazing colleagues, into this profession.

My fury has subsided, but I have a long memory.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.