CleanSteve

By CleanSteve

Catswood fields, Bisley

In between meetings, phone calls, writing press releases and discussing our print needs I managed a quick trip up the hill to the farm shop outside Bisley in order to stock up with vegetables, eggs and some little brassica seedlings for the winter garden.

I wandered across country via Catswood Farm only a mile from the farm shop and then took the old winding road down into the Slad valley. From there I could drive along it back into Stroud where I had to meet Bruce, the graphic designer. I couldn't resist stopping to catch the light over the fields with the huge clouds puffed up against the blue sky. I have missed the harvest of the cereal crops thus summer, but now there are new scenes and the wildlife is much more visible.

On arrival outside Bruce's house, as I parked I saw Richard standing in his doorway on the opposite side of the road talking to a young lad. I haven't seen Richard for some time as he has been keeping a low profile, and I hadn't realised this was the house he had moved to with Louise, and he invited me in for a few minutes of chatting. It was really good to see him again and by the time this evening had ended I had met him again at the launch of the book of poetry in celebration of Laurie Lee held at the Stroud Museum, where Helena performed her contribution to the book. I would have blipped a picture of her reading her poem, but all of my pictures tonight we're very poor in the rather low light. So instead I have reverted to the golden glow of late afternoon sun over the Cotswolds which I suspect may always raise a cheer. Laurie Lee would have liked it as it is only a mile or so from where Rosie lived.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.