I'm getting closer .....

A strange day, where I've had to deal with a tricky situation. Late in the afternoon I went shopping in Gloucester to buy our fresh tofu and a few other essentials, after which i headed down to the Gloucester to Sharpness canal. I wanted to spend a little while by the water and the River Severn was a bit too far to go.

I stopped by a swingbridge over the canal where I have walked before and observed interesting wildlife on the canal banks. I walked over the bridge, past the bridge keeper's lodge saying hello to him at the same time. I had my camera bag and buy the time I had walked thirty yards along the towpath I saw a kingfisher flying along the opposite bank which is about thirty yards away. the canal is actually a ship canal allowing access to Gloucester Docks to sea-going vessels of quite a large size, including the Tall Ships which regularly visit.

The kingfisher landed on a low branch of a tree sticking out over the water. I had to change lenses to a zoom and adjust the settings and managed to fire off three shots before it took off along the bank and away up the canal. I have an ongoing quest to photograph a kingfisher well. I have managed badly several times and this is marginally better. But I am pleased that I got at least this shot to encourage me to either come back here or to go to our local river where I know a few kingfishers nest. I must be prepared better though and have time on my side and ideally be closer to my 'prey'.

I do so love the kingfisher that I am prepared for the worst. I am not prepared to buy a bigger zoom though. I need to get close up in person and be ready when the shot arrives.


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.