Its a Fair Cop Guv

I went on a guided tour of the Judges Lodgings today as part of the National Heritage Day. As I was waiting to enter, camera in hand, this chap came up to me & asked if I was Press. I said Sorry No but he continued to tell me a story which I still don't know if true or not;

in 1970 an 18year old boy set fire to the County Court in Market Square Aylesbury causing serious damage to a beautiful listed building. Mr X (pictured) told me that he was that man and that he had paid for his crime having served a lengthy prison sentence. He showed me his ID as "proof" but I had no idea who he was. Since then I have tried to find out if this feller was telling me the truth but nothing as yet....

Anyway the tour was great & very informative and a lady with her 3o something daughter latched on to me & we walked on to the Horwood & James Solicitors building in Church Street. Its a lovely building with lots of historical features. Solicitors have been located in this building for more than 200 years. I lost the girls here as I cut across for a quick look at the 300 year old Quaker meeting house in Rickford's Hill. Gorgeous little timber framed building where there was a Quaker burial ground which is lost now in the depths of time.

Managed to get back to the car exhausted but alive......

Drove home, had lunch then had a little sleep.

Fine dull/sunny day

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.