Autumn bloom

This is one of the very few remaining roses in my garden, caught in the late afternoon light.

I've blipped it in preference to any of the photos I took at the Forest v Derby game at lunchtime.

I hate local derbies. Football is sacrificed in the name of local rivalry and "passion". It was even more awful than usual. Fouls unpunished (we always complain about refs but this was of a different order), nasty vicious play, nasty injuries.... many other kinds of nonsense.

This year quite a few of the Forest fans had decided to stick Bobby Zamora masks on the roadsigns and bridges between Derby and Nottingham (and to wear them and sing about them. Bobby Zamora, you will almost certainly not remember, if you ever knew or cared, scored the goal for QPR which thwarted Derby County's last year's attempts to gain promotion. A vaguely funny idea which wore extremely thin.

The guy on the radio, as I drove home, described it as a "game that had everything"... sending off, pitch invasion.....yes..... but it was a dismal shambles.

So I preferred to blip the rose.

The score - a draw - but we lost two of our best players.

And as I type, I'm watching the team that denied Derby that Premiership place. QPR - and they are getting stuffed......

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.