Blast from the Past

'Are you planning on building one?' said one wag; yeah funny guy. Although ...with my nose pressed to the camera and the camera pressed against the radiator grills, badges and headlamps trying to get the right light and angle he could be forgiven for thinking that.

The only way to get a fish eye shot of a headlamp is on the floor and trust me I spent a great deal of time flattened in front of various vehicles. 'She looks like she's been run over!' floated over my head at one point!

Not my normal venue for photographs but it was a great few hours at the local Toddington Classic Car Rally. There were some great vehicles ranging from motorcycles, buses, taxis and police cars to some fabulous vintage cars all nostalgic reminders and a wonderful blast from the past. Beautifully kept and lovingly restored, shiny and sparkling on the tarmac; their owners with their picnics sitting behind or inside chatting about previous meets, cost of upkeep and getting another.

'You've taken a lot of shots of my Dad's car ..the one next to it is mine.' I heard behind me from a rather debonair young man as I was nearly ready to leave. 'I'd love some pictures taking....could I give you my e-mail address!? Oh MY of course he could. No trouble at all! :))

However this is his Dad's car here: a stunning white Jaguar SSIOO. A British 2-seater sports car built between 1936 - 1940 in Coventry. The 100 was meant to reflect the theoretical 100 mph of the car. One of the rarest with only 198 built of the 2.5 litre models. In 1937 the cost would have been about £395, today you would be paying a mere snip, in excess of £300,000 for one in good condition.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.