Tommy0161

By Tommy0161

New brush...

I was doing a bit of gardening the other day and the garden brush came to a sticky end. Here it is with it's spiffy new replacement. Let's see how long this one lasts!

I bought the new one in an independent store in Chorlton. I read a piece that if we all spent £60 a year with independent businesses instead of chains we could transform the local economy. That's just £1.20 a week to transform your local high street. Taking Chorlton as an example, if everyone there spent £60 more it would bring £2.5 million+ into the local economy. Old businesses would prosper, new ones would be attracted and jobs would be created.

I could have bought the brush at a supermarket, at B&Q or at one of the big garden centres, but my £4 went to a little store in Chorlton, along with £3 on some fruit that we needed that might usually bought in one of the huge supermarket chains. So, I'm up to £7 on my campaign to spend £60 on local goods and services before the new year.

At the moment I'm supporting the local economy again, drinking a glass of Pinot Grigio in one of Chorlton's independent bars...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.