#indyref hand of friendships

Some of the most rewarding experiences of getting a wee bit involved campaigning for a yes vote with the Indy Quines these past long months have been in reacquainting with old friends, getting to know existing friends better, making a vote load of new friends and getting to spend time with some very dedicated, positive, clever and enthusiastic people.

When I've contended with a challenging exchange, been belittled, spat at or shouted at, either campaigning, at work, in the street or nearer to home, it's the Indy Quines that have pulled me up again. Overall there hasn't been much negative experiences, I'm thankful for that. "You can fall but don't lie down" sang a very famous Scottish singer on Sunday night.

Aye, the referendum shenanigans have felt at times like a neverendum but it's also given me an opportunity to try new things, and push myself. With work and family commitments I've had to reconcile the fact that I probably haven't done enough. I hope for a yes vote, of course I do, and I will be sad if we don't reach that goal, but if it is a no vote, I will just have to deal with that! But I will do so in the full knowledge that I have met some wonderful people, and some more good things will come of that, I'm sure of it.

So pleased the Aberdeen Indy Quines feature heavily on this national leaflet, although I've done so little compared to some of these girls who not only had their cereal but were no doubt packing some porridge too.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.