Times Of My Life

By CarolB

One

One more photo-montage of papers and magazines (sorry, I know it's lazy).

One more failed and discredited ex-Party Leader wheeled out to make a strong case for why we should stay.

One more promise of non-specific 'Extra Powers' which were unconditionally refused less than two years ago.

One more plot exposed (although in this case, only a veg plot in Gardener's World).

One more misleading Poll result in the Daily Mail (okay, it's actually Private Eye, but if it hadn't been for the picture of Putin giving the Ukrainian premier a right kicking, you would have never known the difference).

One more day of lies and scare stories fed to the press to feed back to us, in order to frighten us into accepting the really big lie, that we are better off where we are.

One more day before we wake up to the most important decision we have ever made.

Tomorrow, Wednesday 17th September 2014, will be critical to this fight. Those of us who have decided to vote Yes must stand firm, no matter what they throw at us next. Those of you who are not quite convinced just yet must seek the information you need to be sure.

I've got to say, being naturally thrawn, I think they are making me more determined with every one of their silly scare stories. The worse they say it is going to be, the more bloody determined I am to persist. I was always like that: when I was about 15, and my Dad would tell me to be home by 10 o'clock I would always be late.

Knowing that I was totally going to get killed anyway, I always used to think I might as well get hung for a sheep as for a lamb, so I'd often stay out all night! Later when I was a parent myself I could quite understand why he went 'bersie', but while I was getting my punishment I could at least reflect on a night spent with friends, laughing, joking, drinking and smoking, and listening to music and generally having a good time.

Isn't that kind of our national psyche?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.