Fantastic atmospherics today

I was on my way to a meeting this afternoon and delighted in watching a cumulonimbus cloud develop over Maidstone. It billowed and swelled high into the sky, eventually flattening out into a beautiful anvil top. By the time I'd found a place to stop the convection had stopped and all that was left were several ragged, decaying shreds of scud.

It was so warm today I expected a storm at some time this afternoon, but it was not to be although quite torrential storms broke north and south of here.

This shot was taken in early evening on our walk around Mote Park. It was a convection cumulus but not developing into anything special, but very shapely nonetheless. Having been in sky blue California for 3 weeks, where there was hardly a cloud in the sky (except for low mist and cloud early in the mornings) it was wonderful to see cloudscapes again. (Mind you I heard San Diego had some rain this week)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.